Race Report: MiniMussel & IMLP Build up

“Difficulties in life are intended to make us better, not bitter.” – Dan Reeves

Eeep! 2 weeks ago (I guess not THAT long ago) I raced a sprint triathlon in Geneva, the MiniMussel. Last year I did the half here and decided I wanted to add another race (more experience) in addition, Doug was doing the half on Sunday, so we spent the weekend up in Geneva. Here’s the race report for the Mini Mussel:

Swim (750yds) – 12:29 (1:37/yd) *PR

This was my first in water swim and after Syracuse, I wanted to remind myself that I am tough, that I can swim fast as well as not freak out in the water. After what seemed like forever in the water to start, I pushed, hard. I found a great pair of feet for a few 100 yds before she went too far right (we swim to the left) and then I just kept pushing. I didn’t have a clue where I was but I wanted to be proud of this swim. Before I knew it I caught men from the first wave, but literally, they were a few feet in front of me when I first saw them as the water was so green you couldn’t see. Eventually I finally got to the ramp, saw my time, saw Coeur Teammate Jenelle not too far in front of me and I knew I swam well. Not to mention that I was on there verge of getting sick – unsure if it was because I swam hard, the water was gross or because it was so warm, but I kept on trucking!

Gear: BlueSeventy Reaction Wetsuit, Roka R1 Goggles (love, love love these), Garmin 735xt.

Bike (16mi) – 45:18 (21.2 mph) *PR

I wanted to go, I had permission to go, and legs felt dead. I reminded myself to be tough and give everything that I had. So I did. It was weird to not eat or drink THAT much (hello ironman training), but I tried. Unfortunately, I didn’t make as much ground on the girls in front as I had hoped but pushed as much as a I could. ps. hello major headwind on the way out, but the last part of the course is utterly beautiful.

Gear/Nutrition: Coeur Sports Zele Tri Top, Coeur Sports Team Shorts, Rudy Project Aero Helmet, Smith Pivlock Sunnies, Shimano SH-WT60 Triathlon Shoes, 1 bottle of Osmo, 1/2 sleeve of Clif Shot Bloks.

Run (5k) – 22:41 (7:07/mi)

Started the run hoping to really get after it (did you get the theme of the race?) and let me tell you – my legs were.. OUCH! There was just nothing. I was trying to hold on for dear life. I tried everything – getting on my toes, pumping my arms, telling myself it was ONLY a 5k. Nothing worked, but that was ok. I reminded myself what I was training for.

Gear/Nutrition: Coeur Sports Zele Tri Top, Coeur Sports Team Shorts, Smith Pivlock Sunnies, Saucony Grid Type A Shoes, Feetures Socks.

Finish: 1:25:25, 1st AG, 8th Female, and 40th OA * PR

I ended up pr’ing – only other sprint course I’ve done is CLT (twice). I absolutely love local races, their convenient, you get to see all sorts of friends and it’s fun! As always, a big shoutout to the volunteers, thank you for everything you do! If you’re looking for a great, fun, family event. Musselman weekend is definitely ideal! There’s something for everyone, besides sprint and half races there’s a fun family/kid event friday to kick off the whole weekend! Not to mention, local wine and almond butter as AG/Overall Prizes! 🙂

Prior to Mini Mussel, I put up two of my biggest training weeks ever which were truly incredible. One of my favorite sessions was my 100 ride around Skaneateles and Otsego lakes. It was beautiful. Up next: Ironman Lake Placid.

IMG_7055

looking at Skaneateles Lake

IMG_7057

Obligatory Puppy Snuggle Pic

IMG_7194

Overload DONE

IMG_7211

Cursing my wetsuit, as always

IMG_7212

bike, bike, bike

IMG_7208

Mini Mussel runnnnning, it hurts.

IMG_7204

Podium

IMG_7217

Doug racing Musselman

IMG_7220

Friends!

Leave a Reply

