Letting things go.

Every great story on the planet happened when someone decided not to give up, but kept going no matter what.” –Spryte Loriano

I can’t speak enough of the support system that surrounds me. Everyday the people around me are checking in, offering encouragement and providing support beyond belief. I don’t know where I’d be without this amazing community. Thank you, everyone, it doesn’t go unnoticed.

Training has been has, dare I say, been good. I’m finally enjoying it, letting go of what I need to and just enjoying what I’ve been doing. Since my 20-miler, I’ve done 7000+ yards in the pool (MOST EVER), did my first century plus ride with lots of climbing and beautiful views, did lots of tempo that I didn’t think was there and did my first OWS in a pond where I was waiting for a fish to come poke up and say ‘hey’.

Pictures from the Long Ride:

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

The big change.. my attitude, my mental outlook, the noggin. As spoke about with the 20-miler, I’ve been focusing on being where I am, the mile I’m in, the rep I’m in, not what has past or what the future brings. I’ve reminded myself to look around more, enjoy the places I’m in, the places I’ve passed, the places I’m headed towards and above all the place I LIVE in. Where my feet and bike let me go, the places I’ve been able to explore. I’ve let go of some of the data and focused on the roads, hills, pools, ponds, and trails before me. For example, in my longest ride by almost 3 hours, there was no negative thoughts, no I can’t, no tears – Only I can, yeah this sucks but I can. One pedal in front of the other.

I’ve been thinking of the trip to Placid last year to watch IMLP and reminded myself why I signed up, the atmosphere, the scenery, the goosebumps and tears that filled my eyes as I watched the people I know and strangers alike cross the finish line, fight through the ups and downs, those leaving it all out there. I can’t wait to feel that again.

Until then, some more quality training, some more enjoyment and just over a week until Syracuse 70.3.

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

