3 Months down, 3 Months to go

“We keep moving forward, opening new doors, and doing new things, because we’re curious and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.” – Walt Disney

Well, I’m a week behind but none the less I had my  3 month meeting with my coach, Brian of TBG Training. I was sort of in shock all week as 3 months of training has already passed and I ONLY had three more months to go until IMLP.

photo3

Brian and I talked about how I was feeling (good and hungry ALL THE TIME), what I was thinking (caught me post swim, there wasn’t much thinking), and what my concerns consisted of (keep reading). In talking with Brian, I was able to really nail down the underlying concerns that I didn’t really know existed. It made this recovery week a WHOLE LOT less of a mess than the last recovery week (plus I was working a bunch). Ultimately, right now I haven’t been able to get outside on the bike. It’s not more of a concern as I’m just really curious where my biking stands. The second big thing is OWS (open water swimming). I’m fine getting in the lake but I’ve never swam freestyle (as you know by now) in a triathlon, so I’m curious to see how that will go and if the lake will ever warm up to get in. My wonderful boss offered to go with me, but he’s going to stay on the shore drinking hot cocoa with the girls- so thoughtful! 😉

Realizing those fears has me thinking:
a) I’ve already accomplished many milestones in training
– The longest ride ever (on the trainer) of 2.5 hours
– 3800 yards of swimming in under 90 minutes (a HUGE relief)
– Longest run ever (Yesterday 16 miler)
– A multi brick – I didn’t even know those EXISISTED!
b) If OWS is my biggest concern-I’m doing ok
c) I still have 3 MONTHs to go to keep getting fit!

photo4

Multi Brick Fun! Love my Coeur Kit! No issues!

In the pool I’ve been thinking about my open water swimming and focusing on my form a lot (pretending I’m super tall and reach reallllllly far). I even managed to punch myself in the face one morning so I supposed that simulates my goggles getting kicked. I’ve also thought about all the things that could go wrong and have just started to accept them, especially as in one swim I’m pretty sure I drank a quarter of the pool.

On the other side of things, looking at the training ahead has me forgetting to breathe. I get my confidence from my training  (which IS working) but looking ahead (eeeek!) has me unsure of myself. Yes, I’m fully aware these sessions were coming but actually seeing them is a whole different story.

As a runner, I know my coaches will/would never give me something I can’t handle. I know in running I can accomplish anything that comes my way, but in running I’m only training for one discipline AND typically it’s longest distance is a half marathon. I knew doing an Ironman would have me do things I never thought possible and even though I think Brian is trying to kill me (just kidding! :)). I also need to realize he won’t give me something I can’t handle either.

On another note, each week I am amazed by the people around me and the support the give. Though my journey is half way I wouldn’t have made it this far with out them. A big thanks to my coach Brian (and handling my crazy looks), my Mom, Alex, Artie, Doug, Erin, Liz & other friends and family (for always checking in and listening when I need it), Ian and my co-workers, the Cornell girls and staff, my massage therapist (Dale Cooper), my chiropractor (Gerrit), my Coeur and Oiselle family (and for the great products both companies make), and the amazing community that is Ithaca, NY.

My confidence in myself is growing every day and in the uncertainty I need to remember the journey, the journey that leaves me excited and wanting more, while not forgetting to take a look around and to smile.

New Coeur Kit Fun!

New Coeur Kit Fun!

 

6 Comments

  1. Hi. It’s Reg with Coeur. I really enjoyed reading your update. We’re so happy to have you on the team. Looking forward to following you at IMLP. I’m sure you’re going to have a great day on that iconic and beautiful course.

    Like

  2. Deep breaths and just keep moving forward! You’re doing GREAT, Lisa! Enjoy the second half of your training… soak it up (it goes by so quickly!) and know that you can and you WILL do it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

