IMLP Update: 8 weeks down

Obsessed is just a word the lazy use to describe the dedicated.” -Unknown

I can’t believe I’ve been training for IMLP for 2 months now. It’s really quite scary. Still lots of: hmm.. can I really do this… how nuts am I? I’ve only done 3, that’s right THREE triathlons my entire life.. how am I going to survive Ironman?

It’s time to be a little more positive. Since I’ve been training, I’ve been consistently doing 4000+ yards in the pool weekly. Thats HUGE! Remember me? Yeah- I’m not a swimmer yet things are starting to progress! I’m starting to feel a little like Nemo at the early AM pool sessions. I’m more balanced and I’m even feel somewhat normal breathing on BOTH sides while swimming. That’s right. BOTH sides. Now the anxiety is setting in about open water swimming.. blerg.

My second Swim TT is this week and I’m hoping I see some improvements.

Cycling has been going well, finally on the bike more. Sessions have consisted of tempo efforts and longer rides. I had my longest trainer ride ever last Sunday. Over 2 hours in the same spot (again- baby steps). The best part was definitely getting updates from Ironman Los Cabo after reading all about Ironman 70.3 Oceanside. I was really excited to get myself out there and race then I remembered some things. One being, I live in CNY, it’s going to be April tomorrow and it snowed yesterday. Two, I’ve never actually trained for a triathlon. It’s kind of scary. Usually triathlons are my outlet from my obsessive, over analyzing personality when it comes to running. Now I’m training for them. Needless to say, there will be more emotions behind them this year. Not just as I’m doing another 70.3 but more because of the Ironman.

Image

Successful long ride: note the Osmo & Computer with IMCabo updates

My second Bike TT is also this week. I caved and bought a Garmin 510 so I’ll be anxious/excited to see how I’m really doing on the bike. We’ve just been using HR as feedback for everything.

Running has been going well, which isn’t hard for me. I still love every run, even when it’s 20 with 5 degree windchill. Awesome CNY, awesome. I have another half marathon this weekend, but it’ll be more chill. I wasn’t planning on ‘racing’ it but now I’m hoping I can get after it and mow people down the last few miles.

Image

Managed to squeeze a LR in Shorts on Saturday before the snow again! Loved my Oiselle Distance Shorts

Looking forward to the next few weeks as training starts to really ramp up more!

 

3 Comments

  1. You can do it! If it makes you feel better I signed up for my first ironman the night before my first sprint triathlon (11 months before)! Sounds like your training is right on track and you will be more than ready come race day! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

