Life Changes

“If things start happening, don’t worry, don’t stew, just go right along and you’ll start happening too.” – Dr. Seuss

Well helloooo thereee. I suppose its been awhile. Since the Empire State 13.1 things have been a little crazy. Life has picked up a little bit. REWIND though- the more I thought about the race the happier I was and was excited to be back at the grind training for the RnR in Arizona, THEN I got sick again.

Apparently through the pain I enjoyed it :)

Apparently through the pain I enjoyed it 🙂

I was so annoyed, I’m NEVER sick twice in 3 months. Blah–but not just sick, I had bronchitis. I was a little nervous about  this as I have severe allergies already and hate when my lungs struggle more. On the positive side: my doctor said I could run, I hardly missed mileage and I only missed one weeks of workouts (two weeks of bronchitis, coughing, blowing my nose, etc. etc.). Not too terrible I suppose. I tried to remain positive and focused. But the past is the past.

However, as I sit here in my hotel room (watching law & order: SVU… LOVE IT) in terre haute (for D1 Nationals) I’m really thinking about life, especially the last couple weeks. Bronchitis was a little blow to my self esteem (about running) but tried to make sure I didn’t panic. It wasn’t going to hurt anything and I was still maintaining fitness by being able to run, plus it was the only thing to keep my sane in this crazy life.

The past seven days have been great for training. I’ve been listening to my body, focusing more on core, stretching and foam rolling and have been just continuing to enjoy it. Yesterday though it hit a new level. I ran on my favorite dirt road in ithaca, just me, some tunes and the rolling hills between to (rather large) hills. The workout itself wasn’t anything special, not crazy at least but it was the fastest stuff I’ve done in a while (which is probably good considering the T-Trot next week!). Ultimately, what made it so good, was the sun shining, the ‘hurt’ we all crave (so to speak) and the feeling at the end knowing I really worked my body and my mind to reach a new level of enjoyment. Plus it was just downright beautiful and I was just glad to be out there.

On a side note: I’ve been promoted to the manager of our little running store 🙂 It’s quite exciting and has managed to make me more busy(duh!) but in a better way. It’s helped everything fall in place. I’m really happy where I am in life and finally feel like where I (semi) belong.

The next few weeks will be gone in a blur. This week in Terre Haute, IN, next week home for 3 days for thanksgiving (CANNOT WAIT TO SEE MY FAMILY & MY STEPHY), then heading to the RUNNING EVENT in Austin for work (yes- totally GEEKED out). The running event is a big running convention. Part of me is excited for these adventures and part of me is tired just thinking about it. I’m excited however, because running always lets me see these places in another light that ‘regular’ people often miss. Bring it on!

The biggest part-everyday I get a little bit more excited for Ironman Lake Placid and to toe the line to wear my Oiselle singlet again (Thanks to my bird family and their inspiring stories & great races!!).

Leave a Reply

